On 1 April 2020, due to the COVID-19 situation, the IPSA Executive Committee, in consultation with the Local Organizing Committee in Portugal and the Program Co-chairs, made the difficult decision to postpone the 2020 IPSA World Congress to July 2021. View the Official Postponement Announcement (dated 1 April 2020).

For more information please visit the Congress Postponement to 2021 page.


We are very pleased to invite our colleagues from around the world to Lisbon, Portugal for the 26th IPSA World Congress of Political Science to be held 10-14 July 2021. The Congress will have a diverse program under the theme New Nationalisms in an Open World, which will be coordinated by the Program Co-Chairs Prof. Bertrand Badie and Prof. Hasret Dikici Bilgin.

The call for proposals for 2021 will be open from 1 September to 20 October 2020.

The Congress will provide a great opportunity to present your work and discuss political science and international relations with scholars from all over the world. It will have particularly strong regional representation since it will also integrate the biennial Congress of the Portuguese Political Science Association.

We will be receiving you at the Nova University Campus of Campolide, close to Lisbon’s center, where you can enjoy a view over the city and easily walk or take public transportation to visit the many sights, restaurants, monuments that the city has to offer.

We look forward to seeing you in Lisbon in 2021!

  Local Organizing Committee (LOC)

  • Madalena Meyer Resende, NOVA University of Lisbon (LOC Co-chair)
  • Carlos Jalali, University of Aveiro (LOC Co-chair)
  • Andrés Malamud, University of Lisbon
  • António Costa Pinto, University of Lisbon
  • Ana Mónica Fonseca, ISCTE-University Institute of Lisbon
  • João Carlos Espada, Catholic University of Portugal
  • João Cardoso Rosas, University of Minho
  • Pedro Magalhães, University of Lisbon
  • Pedro Tavares de Almeida, NOVA University of Lisbon
  • Nuno Severiano Teixeira, NOVA University of Lisbon
  • Ana Belchior, ISCTE-University Institute of Lisbon
  • Raquel Freire, University of Coimbra
  • Raquel Vaz-Pinto, NOVA University of Lisbon
  • Edalina Rodrigues Sanches, University of Lisbon
  • Manuel Meirinho Martins, University of Lisbon
  • Marina Costa Lobo, Social Sciences Institute of the University of Lisbon
  • Bruno Rocha, NOVA University of Lisbon (Postgraduate Representative)
  • Sandra Dias Fernandes, University of Minho